Posted by: littlebitofparadise | June 24, 2015

Our Most Shocking Announcement Ever… !!!

PoohquoteVia

I’ve got some news to share with you! And honestly, this is a post I never thought I’d get the chance to write. But here is my news, as surprising and shocking as may be:

WE. ARE. HAVING. A. BABY. GIRL.

GIRL!!!!!

Can y’all believe it? I think in my head and my heart I was on track to be a #boymom for life – and then in the span of a 30 minute ultrasound earlier this week, I’m utterly transformed. Oh yes. ALL the GIRL things. I’ve already started a new Pinterest board for redoing the nursery. I am daydreaming in ruffles and smocked dresses and hair bows – HAIR BOWS!!! – and then of course there’s the new fantasies of having a pedicure buddy a few years down the road….


When all five of us walked into the ultrasound room yesterday morning, my belly was barely covered with gel when my 5 year old turned to the Tech and said “excuse me, does our baby have a penis?” We all nearly died laughing, it was perfect. After checking out our baby’s anatomy for a few minutes, she turned to Mark and said “are you ready for the news?! NO PENIS!” And we all stared at each other in disbelief. We asked her to double check.

So, so fun and exciting. We can’t wait!

…for different reasons, of course. The boys can’t wait to introduce her to the technical names of every vehicle on a construction site. And teach her all about Hot Wheels and Legos and dirt. But that’s okay….I’ll make sure there’s adequate pink bows and tea parties and baby dolls in her life too.

Pinky swear. ;o)


         

Responses

  1. aaaaaaahhhhh! A girl! What sweet news. Congratulations!!

  2. That is so hilariously wonderful! Super excited for you!

  3. Yay! How exciting. As a mama of all boys, even though I love each of them and am perfectly thrilled with each of them, I know how fun this news must be.

  4. Oh yay!!! Congratulations!!!

  5. So exciting!! Congrats, Steph!

  6. Congrats!

  7. This is one mom who can truly say, with all her heart, I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!!!!! What joy, what fun, what dreams, what a wonderful heap of things to look forward to!! 🙂 Hope you are feeling great!!

  8. So exciting!! What a blessing for your family 🙂

  9. I am SO happy for you Steph!!! I was hoping for a girl for you! You’ve been in my thoughts and prayers. Oh what great news!!!

  10. Just wonderful!!

  11. Congratulations Stephanie, Peter, Mark, Luke and Garrett!!! She’s just going to bring more love into your family. xoxoxo

  12. Congratulations! I’m so happy for you!

  13. Congratulations! I am kinda the opposite. 🙂 I had one girl then one boy and then four girls after that. When my second son was born ten years after his brother, I cried and laughed. Enjoy your sweet girl. She will be the princess of your home. 🙂

  14. Beautiful!!!

  15. Best wishes from Australia, congratulations!

  16. I know what you are feeling…my boys are now 8, 7, 5, and my little girl is about to be 3. Even though the ultrasound said girl I didn’t fully believe it until she was born…get ready to see a Nerf sword in one hand and a baby doll in the other!!!

  17. how fun! congratulations! (I’m a mom to four girls!)

  18. Congrats! That is awesome!

    BTW, as a former member of NextWaveFaithful, I was wondering if you still intend to start an online group for slightly older young adults? I read you were going to do this, and was very excited, but then heard nothing else about it. I think this would be really great and much-needed, especially for those of us who have decided (at least for now) not to be on any non-Catholic forms of social media.

    -Dawn
    PS My bro is a former member of Holy Trinity in Bristow. Do you still go there?

    • Thanks Dawn! No plans to start a young adult group but perhaps the Lord is leading you to do so?! It’s a great idea!
      We live in the Carolina’s now, but still love our former Holy Trinity parish family! 🙂

  19. congrats! hope you are feeling great! When are you due?
    I am due with #3 in Nov! 🙂

  20. That’s so awesome! I know the funny feeling, but in reverse…I had 4 girls before my first boy! My friend had 5 boys and then a girl…and boy does she have ruffles and bows! Enjoy!

  21. BAH!! I just read this post again. Can’t wait to see her/meet her. I know the boys will loooooove her!!

    • Haha we can’t wait either!! Washing these little pink things this week feels surreal! 🎀


Leave a Reply

Categories

