Posted by: littlebitofparadise | October 10, 2014

A Piece to Chew On and Paleo Pie

Happy Friday! It’s been one of “those weeks” around here and I can’t wait to have my favorite guy home for the weekend. He just makes everything better around here. :0)

Regardless of how your week has gone, I’m hoping to send you into the weekend with two of my favorite things: words of wisdom, and dessert.

First, check out this quote by St. Thomas Moore:

“The ordinary arts we practice every day at home are of more importance to the soul than their simplicity might suggest.” – Saint Thomas Moore 

Think about that while you’re folding the mountain of laundry, changing the umpteenth poopy diaper, or loading the dishwasher for the bajillionth time this afternoon. How comforting to know that these seemingly endless, somewhat menial tasks are affecting us on a spiritual level, right?

Recently I’ve been feeling discouraged by the lack of time, focus, and energy my spiritual life is getting in the grand scheme of my daily life. Quiet time with God is kinda hard to come by in this house these days. Alone time? Doesn’t happen all that much either. It’s easy for me to load myself up with guilt that my spiritual life is going down the drain as I try to manage the day to day duties of motherhood. So this quote hits me in a raw spot on my heart. I’m grateful for the reminder that even the diapers and the dishes and the rocking the teething toddler are important to my soul.

And now for a recipe. Even though we try to stick to a clean eating/paleo diet at our house, my Hubs and I love dessert more than I can put into words. We are totally late night indulgers by nature. In the Fall, this pumpkin pie custard recipe is a favorite post-kids-bedtime snack when we are trying to be healthy and avoid much sugar in our diet. I know many of y’all are doing Whole30’s this fall, so here’s one even you Paleo-ites can enjoy.

IMG_6550.JPG

Pumpkin Pie Custard – from Practical Paleo by Diane Sanfilippo. 

  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 pinches nutmeg
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (I use raw local honey)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup full fat coconut milk

Whisk all ingredients together, and pour into ramekins or a round pie dish (oven safe ceramic or glass). Carefully place the ramekins or dish into a baking pan and add enough boiling water to the pan so that it comes halfway up the pie dish. Carefully place the baking pan in the oven and bake at 350 degrees for 45-60 minutes. The pie is done when a knife inserted in the center of the custard comes out clean.

Serve warm or chilled. (I sometimes serve it with whisked coconut milk cream dolloped on top, but usually just plain).

Alterations to the recipe: I use a heaping measure of each of the spices because we love them so much. I often substitute honey for the maple syrup. I also put the whole can of pumpkin and an overflowing cup of coconut milk in mine because I hate leaving a little bit of pumpkin in the can, and it always turns out just fine.

Hope y’all have a wonderful, happy weekend!

XO,

Steph

P.S. Couldn’t help sharing the drawing below that my 4-yr-old just presented to me. It’s our family of 5, a circular racetrack (it’s NASCAR weekend here in Charlotte after all), and the words “Loave MoMo” on it. He intended it to say “Love Mama” because, he told me, “I love my Mama so much and she loves our family.”

#melt

IMG_6567.JPG

Leave a Reply

Categories

