Posted by: littlebitofparadise | August 7, 2014

15 Minutes that Saved the Day

15minutesthatsavedtheday

Via

Thursday, July 31st.

4. 28 p.m.

I stood in the middle of my family room and surveyed the damage, and honest to goodness my thought was “what excuse can I possibly offer for this?”

My husband was due home shortly after 5 pm and three little persons nicknamed Hurricane, Tornado, and Tsunami had blown through my house leaving their mark e.ver.y.where.

But the biggest wreck? That was me. Unwashed hair up in a messy bun. No makeup. Still in my workout clothes. I not only looked like a wreck, I felt gross.

My mental state was somewhere between “Hang the paleo diet, it’s mac and cheese for dinner” and “call the pizza man” when the Type-A never-lay-down-and-die in me somehow kicked into high gear.

In the space of two seconds my will engaged, and I decided there was still time: I was going to salvage today for the Hubs and for the rest of us.

This is exactly what I did between 4:31 and 4:46 pm: 

  • Sip half a cup of iced coffee
  • Dress the 2/3 of the children who were not properly attired
  • Light a candle on the fireplace mantle (scented – his favorite)
  • 5 minute pick up of the first floor
  • 2 minute pick up of the master bedroom
  • Change into cute clothes
  • Fix my hair (as in, a slightly neater messy bun)
  • Quickie make up application (mascara, lip gloss, bronzer)
  • Throw a bottle of Two Buck Chuck in the fridge to chill
  • Set the table (two wine glasses included)
  • Crank up my Pandora classical music channel

15 minutes. That’s all it took to transform a wreck into a pretty descent housewarming for our favorite guy.

I still had nothing started for dinner, the floor was not swept, and a load of laundry was still sitting cold and wrinkled in the dryer, but thanks to mascara, cheap wine, a scented candle, and Pandora, all of that other stuff didn’t matter for the night.

We had a peaceful, happy dinner and a fun  evening. The “fake clean” atmosphere relaxed the entire family. It was almost shocking what a difference those 15 minutes made.

I’m blogging this so the next time I’m tempted to throw in the towel and call the day defeated, I’ll remember.

15 minutes is sometimes all it takes to save the day.

 

Responses

  1. I like this! I always feel better when the downstairs and bedroom are “fake clean” before my husband comes home. Because I am not a very good housekeeper naturally, my husband feels extra loved when I put in the effort to have those 2 places at least “fake clean”. His love language is acts of service, and let me tell you, that any type of good housekeeping is an act of service on my part :-). I feel very thankful that he is never disappointed on the many days that I don’t even get to the fake clean point before his arrival. It is just that he feels extra loved and special when he knows that I made the effort even though it was not the easiest thing.

    • Sarah I’m right with you – my hubby never ever complains coming home to a mess either. But he loves order and I love making him feel calm and refreshed when he comes home. Sure he gets plenty of “welcome to the chaos Babe!” days too, but I’m so glad to know I can make everything better for our evening with just a few minutes of focused effort on my part.

  2. I am soooo glad I am not the only one who struggles with this! Thank you Stephanie!

    • I am darn sure we ALL struggle with it at some level. Girlfriend you are not alone!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

