Posted by: littlebitofparadise | May 5, 2014

What to Read, What to Watch: My Mother’s Day Picks

I flew to Dallas this past weekend to attend my sister Sarah’s Kentucky Derby-themed bridal shower. It was SO. MUCH. FUN. Big hats, pretty dresses, to-die-for cupcakes, and the best (and strongest!) mint juleps I’ve ever had.

derby2

derby1

On the flight out to Dallas, I read the book Surprised by Motherhood: Everything I Never Expected About Being a Mom, by Lisa-Jo Baker.

motherhood1Via

 …And I laughed and nodded my head and underlined and highlighted and cried the ugly cry. It was just what I needed – like a hug, a pep talk, a kick in the gut, and a challenge all at the same time. Jennifer Fulwiler endorsed the book as “the best book on motherhood I have ever read” and Ann Voskamp called it ” “straight-from-the-hip honest, straight-out-hilarious, and straight-from-God holy” and I couldn’t agree more.

Mama friends, I so wish I could send each of you a copy of this book for Mother’s Day. We all need to hear Lisa-Jo’s words. I hope you have a chance to read it some day soon – you’ll be blessed, promise!

momsnightout

I also wanted to recommend the film Mom’s Night Out, coming to a theater near you THIS WEEK (May 9th)! Mom’s Night Out is hilariously funny without being corny or overly cheesy. And the message for mothers – and really all parents – is spot on. This would be the perfect film to grab a bunch of girlfriends and go see the movie together and then head out for margaritas afterwards, but it’s also a great date night movie with your hubby.

So – my top pick for the best mom book and the best mom movie this Mother’s Day. I hope y’all get to experience BOTH, and bask in the encouragement that you’re doing the hardest, the craziest, the most glorious job in the whole world.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mamas!

Responses

  1. First of all, Kentucky Derby bridal shower – AWESOME!!! I’m so jealous….and the hats, oh my, how fun!! Thanks for the book and movie suggestion. I’m in a place of needing some more encouragement before #6 arrives. Can. I. DO. This???? Rings in my brain every single day, so I kind of need a pep talk right now. Looking forward to turning the pages!

    • Oh my, Susan – if you need a pep talk this is THE book for a pep talk. It’s such a real, raw book for moms. So encouraging.
      Thinking of you in your last weeks of waiting for Baby #6!! I’ll be stalking your blog for the big news. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

