Posted by: littlebitofparadise | April 11, 2014

Hard, but Worth It

I had a super fun play date with an old friend this morning. She and I were in the same Bible study in South Carolina when we were both single ladies.

Fast forward about seven years, and both of us have since gotten married, had babies (5 kids between us) and left our careers to become stay-at-home moms. It was fun to catch up after so many years and get to share the experience of motherhood and family life.

As I bounced my teething baby who hasn’t taken a nap all.day.long. today, feeling quiet small and unproductive because nothing else is getting done, a quote about motherhood from G.K. Chesterton came to mind:

“To be Queen Elizabeth within a definite area, deciding sales, banquets, labours, and holidays; to be Whitely within a certain area, providing toys, boots, cakes and books; to be Aristotle within a certain area, teaching morals, manners, theology, and hygiene; I can imagine how this can exhaust the mind, but I cannot imagine how it could narrow it. How can it be a large career to tell other people about the Rule of Three, and a small career to tell one’s own children about the universe? How can it be broad to be the same thing to everyone and narrow to be everything to someone? No, a woman’s function is laborious, but because it is gigantic, not because it is minute.”

– G. K. Chesterton

Chesterton’s words here are a good wake-up call for me whenever I imagine that my life was more exciting, more fulfilling, more interesting, or more valuable when I had a “real job” outside the home.

These boys are crazy but they are wonderful. And they are my path to sanctification just as I am the one gifted with the job of showing them the path to holiness.

So. Hard, but worth it.

Have a wonderful weekend!

xo,

Steph

(And thanks for the inspo, little Blogging Buddy)

20140411-141724.jpg

20140411-141735.jpg

20140411-141746.jpg

20140411-141757.jpg

Responses

  1. I had a hard-but-worth-it day today too. Thank you for the encouraging message!

  2. He is the cutest blogging buddy!

  3. what a good pick me up. Love this: they are my path to sanctification. AMEN!
    we are blessed to be their moms 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

