Posted by: littlebitofparadise | December 16, 2013

My Favorite Christmas Book

the-lion-in-the-box-cover-my-favorite-christmas-book

I’ll never forget the first time Mom read aloud Marguerite De Angeli’s story The Lion in the Box to my siblings and me. I loved this story so very, very much. It so beautifully captures the true meaning of the Christmas season – and makes all who read it count their blessings a little more slowly and thoughtfully and gratefully.

The Lion in the Box tells the story of an impoverished mother and her five young children living in NYC at the turn of the century. In true De Angeli style, the illustrations in The Lion in the Box are beautiful. And timeless. I love that the book is based on a true story! It was written in 1975 after Marguerite was told the story by the real Lili (who is the seven year old sibling in the book).

Sadly, this wonderful Christmas story is now out of print. But I loved it so much as a child that when I entered my early 20s, I began purchasing out of print copies of The Lion in the Box wherever I could find them, such as eBay, Half.com, and used bookstores. I’m saving these treasured copies for my own children, and also to give to my godchildren someday.

Do you have a favorite Christmas book from your childhood? I’d love to hear about it in the comment section below!

Also today sweet Hallie of the blog MoxieWife wrote about another one of my favorite Christmas stories: The Gift of the Magi. I’m grateful that she spread the news that it’s available for FREE on Amazon Kindle today!

Hope y’all have a joy-filled week.

xo,

Steph

Responses

  1. Years ago, my mom started the tradition of giving me a new Christmas story each year. Once I had kiddos, she began giving the stories to them. I could write a long list of my fav Christmas stories, but the 2 that top the list are:

    “The Crippled Lamb” by Max Lucado
    “The Christmas Miracle of Jonathon Toomey” by Susan Wojciechowski

  2. I can’t remember a single Christmas story from my childhood…maybe it’s my current state of pregnesia?! I am curious about The Lion in the Box, though–I just found a copy on Ebay!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

