Posted by: littlebitofparadise | November 25, 2013

Pancake Days

P6

P1

P2

P3

P4

P5

P12

P13

Some days when the weather is freezy-toes cold and the sun forgets to shine and everyone is just a little extra cranky in the morning…

…When the baby won’t be put down for any reason

…When the toddlers have so much stir crazy energy that Mom pulls out every hidden-away toy and craft project and puzzle she can find to keep them from destroying furniture or each other

… When even the outside toys are dragged by Mom into the family room to keep toddler people occupied

…When Mom is still wearing flannel pajama bottoms and Dad’s socks at 11:37 in the morning

Well, those are the days we make Grandma’s Pancakes for lunch. It makes all of us super duper happy! 

Growing up, my Mom’s pancake recipe was THE recipe that all of us kids would agree is most dear to our family. It’s what we made on birthdays and special occasions and for breakfast on lazy Saturday mornings and for lunch on cold homeschool Wednesdays and for dinner on late winter Sundays with a couple pounds of bacon and mugs of hot cocoa.

My boys call these “Grandma’s Pancakes” because my Mom makes them for my boys just about every time they come to visit her. I don’t know if Mom came up with the recipe or where she got it from, but they sound gross. And they’re absolutely delicious.

Cottage Cheese Pancakes.

Yes, cottage cheese pancakes. The recipe creates a crepe-like super thin pancake which is perfect because you can eat eleven of them and not feel too guilty about it.

Every time I make this recipe for my kids, I think of my mom standing over the griddle making double or triple batches for the eight of us. This recipe magically transports me to my childhood and makes me think of all my siblings.

…Of John and Matthew, who could each eat an entire batch by themselves. Of Mary who could eat just as many. Of Anne who would put her schoolbooks down a few minutes before the rest of us to go start a lunchtime batch in the kitchen. Of Catherine who hated maple syrup so preferred her stack with a sprinkling of powdered sugar. And lots of butter.

I love how a recipe pulls our hearts to the past. How it comforts us and makes us feel special.

When you’re having a flannel pajamas and cozy socks day at your house this winter, I hope you feel brave and try this recipe, cottage cheese and all. You wouldn’t even know there was cottage cheese in it unless I told you the secret. Pinky swear!

Cottage Cheese Pancakes*

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Dash of salt

Put all of the ingredients into a blender or food processor and blend until smooth, or put everything into a bowl and use an immersion blender until smooth.

Spoon the mixture onto a buttered griddle. Flip when you see the tiny bubbles start to form (only take about a minute or so per side). They will be super thin (don’t expect them to rise or be fluffy) and light in color. Serve with pure maple syrup or powdered sugar or whatever you like to eat with your pancakes.

Makes about 18 pancakes. So make one batch for yourself and one batch for everyone else.

*(Note: to make the recipe gluten free, we use Bob’s Redmill Gluten Free flour as a substitue for regular flour, and I use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil).

PS. This also makes a great midnight date recipe served with champagne, strawberries, and lots of bacon. ;o)

P7

P8

P9

P10

P11

Do you have a favorite recipe that transports you back to your childhood and happy memories from long ago? What do you do with your kids on cold pajama-pants mornings that last all day?

Please do share, I’d love to try your recipes and ideas!

xo,

Steph

Responses

  1. I too am sooo in the freezing-dreary-outside-stir-crazy-toddler mode right now…LOL I only wish my boys would wear any kind cozy comfy pants in the house–they will only wear shorts year round! And it’s a huge battle and screamfest trying to get them appropriately dressed to venture out…my indoor trick to keep them from going nuclear in the house is to let them explore all the “old” toys stored in the basement, and to bring up a select (or more…) few to play with, even though it means more clutter…

    Can’t think of anything yummy from childhood for these cold days except for hot chocolate–I usually end up making instant, if I remember to buy it!! Haven’t found a homemade recipe that’s good yet…

    Will prevail upon Chef Hubby to make those Cottage Cheese Pancakes!! They sound yummy and he won’t burn them like I will! 🙂 Thanks for sharing this post–it certainly cheered up this dreary cold day!

  2. P.S. Oh yeah…on days that are unbelievably stressful and crazy, I let them have unlimited movie/tv viewing time…Veggie Tales is usually a big hit..and “good for you” too!

  3. […] Grandma’s Pancakes. I shared the recipe a while back here, but this is my toddler’s favorite meal, for any meal. I love making it because they gobble […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

