Posted by: littlebitofparadise | November 21, 2013

My Number Two is Two

L1

L2

L3

L4

L5

L6

L7

L8

L9

L10

Today is my Luke’s #2 birthday. By far the best two years of my life.

My little (not so little) buddy is the most joy-filled, good-hearted, sweetest little boy I’ve ever met. What a blessing he is to our family.

Luke’s favorite book is Go, Dog, Go! by P.D. Eastman. So naturally, we had a “Dog Party” to celebrate his birthday.

Here are some highlights:

B4

B3

B2

B1

B1

B5 B6

B7

B8

B9

B10

B11

B13

B14

b15

B16(Mark was picking his nose in EVERY family picture…my apologies…BOYS!!)

Party details:

  • All of the decorations and balloons (including the dog bowls I used to serve appetizers): Dollar Tree
  • Wall decorations: I printed out scenes from the book on my computer and taped them to the wall using scrapbook paper as a backdrop. The “stop sign” is a piece of black poster board with scrapbook paper cutouts for the lights.
  • Cake: My Grandmother’s famous pumpkin bars recipe is the base, with 12 chocolate gluten free cupcakes on top to form the “tree”. Chocolate icing for the base of the tree. Candles from Target. The dog party pictures I printed out from my computer and glued onto lollipop sticks I got from Michaels.
  • Go, Dog, Go! Stuffed animal: Originally from Kohls, I bought it from eBay.
  • Not pictured: our menu included an appetizer of “mini hot dogs” (lil smokies wrapped in biscuits and baked) and the main course was meat loaf…shaped in the form of a dog bone of course! ;0)

Highlight of the night: my sister Susan (Luke’s Godmother) showed up in a goofy decorated hat. If you know the story of Go, Dog, Go!, you know that the most famous line in the book is “Do you like my hat? I do not!” (Which also happens to be Luke’s favorite line). Aunt Susan, you rock!

B17

Related posts you might enjoy:

Responses

  1. I enjoyed this so much! (The stuffed doggie brought back memories–someone gave the exact one to my firstborn, five years ago!) My #3 will be 2 next month…but there’s no way I could put on a party like you did! I may be able to steal a few of your ideas though…what a beautiful family and home! Thanks so much for sharing!!

    • Aw thank you! I was so thrilled to find the doggie on eBay πŸ™‚ and the party probably looks more complicated than it was. Everything was dollar store or printed from the computer and I did all the decorating and cooking same day – between baby feedings haha πŸ™‚
      All the best to you with your new baby on the way!

  2. I totally LOVE these pictures of him at the beginning! Soooo cute and creative! And his party, love it! I love how you thought to put food in dog bowls! Too cute!!!

    • Thanks Mar!
      The outside pics were actually fairly spontaneous – but I’m soooo glad I did it because now they’re treasures πŸ™‚

  3. Love these photos! Happy Birthdays all around!!! GREAT decorations, Steph! Love it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

