Posted by: littlebitofparadise | November 15, 2013

Matt Walsh and A Song Just for You

mattwalshVia

I’m sure most all of my readers have read Matt Walsh’s piece “You’re a Stay-at-Home-Mom What Do You Do All Day?” Within minutes it went viral and I’m confident he’s still getting love letters and hate mail about it.

I believe Matt had really honorable intentions when he wrote about his wife and defended SAHMs and the value of our work. I can testify from personal experience that nothing helps a stay at home mom “stay the course,” so to speak, and find value in her job more than the encouraging and grateful words of her spouse.

A few weeks ago my friend Christine, of the blog “Once Upon Reality,” posted the lyrics to the Stephen Curtis Chapman song “One Heartbeat at a Time” in her blog. Chapman wrote the song for his wife after listening to her walk the halls with a screaming baby in the middle of the night.

I’ve listened to this song quite often this month. It has lifted me up when I’ve felt rather like a hamster running in perpetual motion…on his little wheel. On the days I cook and clean and change diapers and nurse a baby and sweep crumbs off the floor over. and over. and over. ad nauseum…this song reminds me that through these simple ways of loving my children and caring for my home, I’m doing my part to change the world.

One little Bear Cub heartbeat at a time.

If you’re a stay at home mom, I hope you click on the YouTube video below (click the pic) and listen carefully to this song. I hope it encourages you as much as it’s encouraged me (thank you Christine!).

Love,

Steph

Thumbnail

Responses

  1. This is really good! And–first time I had heard of the viral Matt Walsh post…guess I’ve been too busy doing all those SAHM things to be “in touch” with cyber reality LOL! What an inspiring topic especially for this weary mommy on a weary Friday (but nevertheless, ever so blessed)…thank you so much for sharing.

  2. Hey Matt, please stop blogging and help your freaking wife out with the kids! Geesh, I’m so glad my husband doesn’t even know how to type.

    • I know what you mean…right now I’ve got a break because hubby took the kiddos outside for the morning! Ha ha…he does know how to type but doesn’t blog! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

