Posted by: littlebitofparadise | November 11, 2013

For My Heroes

P2

P1

Today is my favorite patriotic holiday. Because it’s the day we celebrate the courage, bravery, fortitude and perseverance of the ones who’ve fought the good fight and kept the faith…the ones who’ve given the most for the values we most hold dear.

I remember asking the Hubs long ago, while we were dating, why he had volunteered for so many overseas deployments.

“I wasn’t married. So better that I go than someone who would have to leave a family behind. It was just the right thing to do.”

That same selfless courage resides in so many American warriors. I’m so proud of my Veteran, and proud that my warrior is the father of my sons. Today I’m so very thankful for him, and for my brother-in-law Patrick, who is an active duty Marine, and for both of our fathers and their service, and for my grandfathers who both gave a lifetime of service.

America is blessed because these and so many more have blessed us with their lives.

Thank you!

So very, very much.

St. Martin of Tours, patron of soldiers (whose feast day is today), pray for us!

Responses

  1. How blessed we are to have such awesome Veterans! Thanks be to God! And thank you to all who have, and do, serve!


Leave a Reply

Categories

