Posted by: littlebitofparadise | October 29, 2013

Dirty Laundry

20131029-133956.jpg

This is just a quick note to say “thank you” to my readers who are husbands and fathers.

Yesterday during my kids’ afternoon nap I finally caught up on the mountain(ssss) of laundry accumulating in my laundry room. I usually wash a load of laundry every day, but the folding and putting away part – lets just say that doesn’t quite get finished every day.

I knew I was behind in the laundry department, but I didn’t realize just how behind I was until I opened my husband’s dresser drawers to put away his undershirts and boxers.

Y’all. His undershirt drawer was completely empty. And he had one clean pair of boxers left.

I felt so bad. I had no idea he was so low on clean clothes until that moment. As I began restocking the (now I realize) large piles of undershirts and boxers and socks in his dresser, a wave of gratitude washed over me – both for my own Hubs and also for all the husbands of wives like me.

You see – wives like me – we really truly desire to do nice things for our husbands, like washing and putting away their laundry. We like packing a lunch for them to take to work. We enjoy throwing a half gallon of their favorite flavor in the cart when we walk down the frozen aisle. Taking care of our husbands, and even spoiling them when we get the chance, makes us happy.

But wives like me, we often get bogged down by the demands of our little ones. We get distracted during difficult seasons of family life. Sometimes we struggle with the basics, like making sure everyone gets fed in a timely manner.

And husbands of wives like me, who recognize our sacrifices, and realize our good intentions, and don’t complain or judge or cajole or blame when they can’t find anything in the pantry to pack for their lunch, or their under garment drawers are flat out empty…

You are my favorite kind of hero.

I have no idea if the Hubs wore his last clean undershirt to work yesterday or if he had to pull a dirty one from the laundry pile (I was kinda afraid to ask – haha)…but either way, I was grateful for the understanding man who trusted I’d get around to taking care of his needs.

Eventually. ;o)

Responses

  1. I feel so much “less alone” when I read your blog! I currently have mountains of laundry on my basement floor…and baskets of clean laundry scattered in various locations…and yes I have actually witnessed an uncomplaining hubby wear the same “dirty” clothes harvested from the floor or the hamper or wherever, because I have not kept up with the wash! Hooray to all the wonderful husbands out there!

    • Oh yay I’m so glad I’m not the only one with laundry mountains! 🙂

  2. I can relate and I only have one little one! I know you are super busy with your three sweet kids, but when you have some time, would you mind sharing how you menu plan/prep dinner? (especially since you’re following a paleo diet) John isn’t a fan of sleeping and b/c of this I feel like I’ve fallen of the cooking bandwagon and cook larger quantities on the weekend for the week, but want Robert to come home to hot dinners on a regular basis! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

