Posted by: littlebitofparadise | October 23, 2013

Drinking In Motherhood

DrinkinginmotherhoodVia

I’ve joked often with my girlfriends that the secrets to motherhood are “coffee in the morning and red wine in the evening”.

Who am I kidding – seriously these two beverages are utterly essential to my motherhood health and happiness!

MotherhooddrinkVia

But there’s a third “drinking in” that makes my role as a mother bearable. feasible. and in fact wonderful.

And that’s drinking in my children.

I think it’s easy for us moms (at least for moi) to get so caught up in the hustle and bustle of our busy days and busy households that we forget to stop and drink in our role as a mother. To relish the smells, the sights, the touch all around us. To sip and savor the sheer hilarity that is every day life with little ones.

Hallie of the blog Moxie Wife wrote last week about research that proves the “new baby smell” is real. Of course it’s real. All of us mamas know that.

But sometimes we forget to stop and DRINK IN that wonderful baby aroma. To drink it in soft and slow and often.

My baby just turned 2 months old (??!!???!!?). When I gave him his birthday bath, I wrapped him in that towel and held him to my chest and just inhaled for a long time. (So long that he actually peed all over my shirt…haha!). There’s no better cocktail in the whole world than new baby smell mixed with a fresh soaking in Johnson and Johnson (Yes even if he pees all over his Mama).

The two month old bath deserved a thorough drinking in with eyes closed and heart full – searing that smell into my memory so that when he’s standing in front of me throwing a two year old tantrum in utter disobedience to my every word…when his five year old slugger arm has just thrown a ball through my bathroom window…when his sixteen year old sullenness refuses to get out of bed before noon… I’ll remember how delighted I am to be his Mama and how quickly these moments pass by.

In the Old Testament the Chosen People are repeatedly urged to “drink deeply” delighting in the glory of their God.

In Isaiah 12:3 we read “With joy you will drink deeply from the fountain of salvation!” and Isaiah 66:11 (speaking of Jerusalem): “For you will nurse and be satisfied at her comforting breasts; you will drink deeply and delight in her overflowing abundance.”

Perhaps the Lord God intends for mothers to delight in their children by drinking in the glory of their little ones with the same feverish joy of the Old Testament peoples. I can’t help but think that God takes great pleasure in a mother who delights deeply in her precious ones.

And so I’ll drink them in – all of them, in all of their crazy demanding messy dirty funny wonderful yumminess.

The coffee and the wine are still necessary (wink).

But the mix of the Three Bear Cubs: that’s the daily cocktail I most delight in. They are the drink I never want to live without.

*  *  *  *  *

Photo dump of memories I’m drinking in today:

G1

20130619-164404.jpg

IMG_2969
20130611-215430.jpg
20130619-214752.jpg
20130621-074055.jpg

20131022-215717.jpg

20131022-215843.jpg

20131022-215923.jpg

20131022-215932.jpg

20131022-220144.jpg

20131022-220153.jpg

20131022-220230.jpg

20131022-220255.jpg

Responses

  1. This is wonderful, Steph! And the photos are too precious!

  2. I so needed to hear this message at this time in my life…I will definitely be mindful of slowing down and “drinking in” my precious little ones every single moment I can! Amidst the chaos of life with little ones and being 7 months pregnant too, I have been overwhelmed with the material needs of my family and home lately–and totally have been missing what is most important. Thank you for another inspiring post! (And the pics are so cute!!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

