Posted by: littlebitofparadise | October 11, 2013

Weary Mamas: Thank God for Friday

MomVia

Today has not been a good day at our house.

The sentence above is the only way I could think of describing it without swearing.

Truth is, I really have no words to describe our day, no stories to tell. The tantrums and the tears (including my own) have left me too overwhelmed and emotionally trashed to paint word pictures right now.

It’s finally (toddler) nap time and it’s the first few minutes of peace this house has heard since it awoke before the sun this morning. And before I begin putting our house back together after this morning’s family circus, I wanted to share three things I’m so very thankful for…especially to encourage any of you mothers who’ve had a day or week like I’ve had.

1. I’m thankful for Sarah Short, and the words she wrote on her blog: Hope For Weary Mamas. I’m so glad I archived these words because I desperately needed to re-read them this morning. Thank you Sarah. Thank you Jesus.

2. I’m thankful for my sister who prayed for me this morning during my struggles. And for the emailed words she sent to lift me up: “Just remember: God’s Will will never take you where His Grace won’t cover.” 

3. And lastly, and most importantly, I’m thankful today is Friday. Not because it’s the last day of the work week and the Hubs will be home to rescue help me (although I am grateful for this). I’m thankful it’s Friday because this is the day of the week set apart to remember the pinnacle of self-gift…the very definition of sacrificial love.

You see, it was on a Friday that my Creator taught me how to suffer.

It was on a Friday that my Savior paid the price for my sins and my selfishness and my shortcomings.

It was on a Friday that he took my burden upon Himself and carried it for me.

And it was on a Friday that God showed mothers like me that our sacrifices have a redeeming quality. When offered out of love, our sacrifices can become beautiful gifts of love offered to the One Who first loved us.

Today my shortcomings and failings and misgivings are great. I feel overwhelmed and my heart is burdened for these little ones I love so dearly but who sometimes stress me out to the breaking point.

And because of these things, I’m so terribly awfully perfectly thankful for Friday. Because it’s on this broken, twisted, sorrowing day that I can most humbly pick myself up, by His grace, and begin again.

“Surely he has born our griefs
    and carried our sorrows;
yet we esteemed him stricken,
    smitten by God, and afflicted.
But he was wounded for our transgressions,
    he was bruised for our iniquities;
upon him was the chastisement that made us whole,
    and with his stripes we are healed.”

Isaiah 53:4-5

P.S. And just for the record I’m so totally eating a jar of Nutella and a bottle of red wine for dinner. ;o)

Happy Friday y’all!

Responses

  1. Awww…I am so sorry, I really feel for you. I have had many of those days/weeks myself–the kind where you are counting the seconds until Hubby walks in the door!! Loved the beautiful reflections on Friday…it often seems that our family encounters some extra annoyances or difficulties with the children, on Fridays! This indeed helps us to look to the Cross and our Savior. It is so easy to feel depressed after a hectic and horrible day/week with little ones–you wonder how you can ever begin again–but somehow you always can. The little ones don’t remember too much after Mommy melts down because of *their* meltdowns, thankfully! Enjoy that wine tonight–you deserve it!!!

  2. Great reflection- and definitely TGIF!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

