Posted by: littlebitofparadise | October 8, 2013

In the Interest of Full Disclosure…

20131008-075257.jpg

“My Mommy is jumping around the room bopping up and down and panting hard. Are all Mommies this strange in the middle of the afternoon?!?” – Garrett

This post could also be titled “Keeping it Real,” but after yesterday’s fantastic response to my plea for workout buddies in Blogosphere (it was awesome to hear from so many of you!) I just had to share the rest of the story.

As promised I popped my Jillian Michaels “30 Day shred” into the DVD player as soon as I posted yesterday’s blog. I tied my shoe laces, grabbed my water, and hit play.

I got a full 59 seconds (yes, that would be one second less than one minute) into the workout when the baby monitor announced a screaming Mr. Baby was ready for his afternoon delight.

Seriously? For real? Yes for real as in real life and real motherhood, right? All I could do was shake my head and laugh.

So off went the shoes and up the stairs I went for what turned into a full hour of nursing/snuggling/nursing until his world was back in order.

Friends, I must admit that if I hadn’t just put it out there for the world that I was going to work out yesterday, and if those of you who wrote to encourage me and jump on board with the workout challenge hadn’t done so, I probably would’ve just skipped it. At that point the kids could wake up from nap time any second, I was feeling the mid-afternoon “slump” and wanted coffee, there were tons of chores to be done (in the words of the King of Siam “et cetera et cetera et cetera….”)

But I had said that I would tackle the Jill Pill, and so with my Baby Bear watching from his bouncy seat on the floor, I got ‘er done.

All I can say is – gee whiz I’m out of shape. But that’s okay. Every day with exercise is a day making progress, right?

This morning my muscles are sore in a “woken up” kinda way, but it feels good. It feels like I accomplished something important.

And this afternoon, here’s to hoping Baby Bear will be a good lil workout buddy once again.

20131008-075341.jpg

“My Mommy thinks I’ll let her work out in peace today. Bwahahahahah!” – Garrett

Hope you can join us!

xo,

Steph

PS. For those who asked: my favorite Jillian Michaels DVD is 30 Day Shred. But Ripped in 30 and her others will also get the job done. I got my Jillian DVDs at Costco, but they’re available all over the place, including at most libraries.

20131008-075402.jpg

Day Two – let’s do this!

Responses

  1. Just wait until your boys are old enough to at least pretend they are doing it with you. That will be priceless–or totally crazy! 😉

  2. Oh my goodness, that is too funny! (Especially judging by the looks on Baby Garrett’s face!) What a test of determination—but even more, how admirable a workout of your mommy-patience!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

