Posted by: littlebitofparadise | October 7, 2013

Who’s With Me?

Okay friends – it’s me again, looking to be inspired and encouraged by you and to pass on some inspiration myself.

I’ve been officially cleared by my doc for regular postpartum activity including working out “without any restrictions,” according to my OB.

So! That means this ol’ Monday is officially “C’mon Steph start getting your postpartum bod back in some pre-baby shape.”

I am trying hard to figure out how to fit daily exercise into our new baby “routine.” With newborn nursing there really isn’t any “routine” in my life yet since I’m rather always on call to Mr. Baby. But I know it’s possible to fit in a daily workout and I’m determined to figure out how.

Those of you Mamas who have advice in this department PLEASE SHARE. I’m all ears and eager to soak up your wisdom.

I’m sharing my postpartum workout plan out here in Blogosphere because I imagine I can’t be the only one who needs both motivation and accountability to get in shape. Perhaps my feeble attempts at starting up a new workout routine will inspire some of y’all to join me in the struggle journey. I’d love to have you along for the ride so we can inspire and encourage each other!

Here’s my postpartum start-up workout plan:

20131007-132014.jpg

1. Jilian Michaels (aka Jill the Pill) workout DVDs for six weeks. Jill really helped me get back into a regular workout regimen after my second pregnancy, so I’m hoping she’ll verbally kick my butt enough to get me kick-started back to shape. Added bonus is her DVDs are about 28 minutes long so it’s not a huge time commitment each day. I figure six wees of Jill will get me to about Thanksgiving.

2. At which point I plan to transition into a beginner’s level CrossFit regimen. I think I’ll use the 20 workouts laid out in the back of CrossFit trainer Sarah Fragoso’s book Everyday Paleo (available from the library if you’re interested and don’t want to buy it).

3. Sarah’s 20 workouts and walking/jogging in the neighborhood should get me to the end of 2013. When the New Year begins, I hope to return to CrossFitting at home.

It’s 1:20pm ET and my two toddler bears are down for their afternoon nap. My newborn is miraculously sleeping in his crib right now, so as soon as I hit the “publish” button on this blog entry, I’m throwing this crazy girl’s DVD into my laptop and kicking off day one of workout fun.

Who’s with me?

🙂

20131007-132025.jpg

Responses

  1. Way to go Steph! On my Gym skip days I like Jillian’s workouts. Also, recently I have been doing my own routine sort of like hers…but not really. I do 5-6 circuits of 4 minutes each. 30 second break in between each circuit then end with 5 minutes of yoga stretches. I have a list of cardio moves, legs, arms with 5 lb weights, and then ab options. I pick one from each category each circuit and do it for one minute not stopping at all. It is great because I don’t get bored – which is what happens when I do Jillian’s workouts too much – and I pick my own motivational music : ) Best of luck to you – you can do it!!! : )

    • Thanks Dags great ideas on switching it up! I tend to get bored with Jill too…

  2. Congrats on being cleared! This is a good one that has helped me: http://www.amazon.com/Lindsay-Brins-Postnatal-Boot-Fitness/dp/B000EWD7TU as well as http://www.amazon.com/SHAPE-CALORIE-BLAST-Summer-Sanders/dp/B004CYVZ6I/ref=sr_1_1?s=movies-tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1381171551&sr=1-1&keywords=summer+sanders+fat+blast

    Both have options to do mix and match sections so your workout can be as short or long as you need.

  3. I admire your determination so much! I’m 7 months pregnant right now, but after my C-section and the “all clear” is given, I have to admit that most of my post-baby workout routine will consist of running up and down stairs chasing toddlers, doing laundry, and all the housework etc. of a stay at home wife and mommy…you know what I mean…

    The one workout tool I really like, though, is the “Ab Roller” or any variation thereof– I’ve heard it called different things–but if I don’t have it handy I find that some “planks” or just crunches while I’m laying on the floor with my kiddos really helps trim the tummy!!! Or I turn on some really upbeat Christian music and dance…so fun and the little ones love to join in!

    • I love the idea of dancing with your kids! It’s like stay at home mom Zumba! 🙂

  4. […] also be titled “Keeping it Real,” but after yesterday’s fantastic response to my plea for workout buddies in Blogosphere (it was awesome to hear from so many of you!) I just had to share the rest of the […]

  5. I do 30 Day Shred! 🙂 I had to take a break though because I got mono. :/ I have to get back into it! (Thanks for the inspiration to do so…)

  6. […] exercise, no cheating (I’ll use Sundays as my rest day). My plan is to start working out with Jillian during my boys’ afternoon nap times, and as Jill gets easier or boring for me, I’ll […]

  7. […] More Prayer & Scripture. It may sound strange to make the comparison, but more Jillian is leading to more Jesus. Yes it’s Lent and perhaps this would be the case anyway, but […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

