Posted by: littlebitofparadise | September 22, 2013

Happy Autumn and Our Favorite Pumpkin Recipes

20130922-133659.jpg

Happy First Day of Fall! Today is the beginning of my favorite time of year. Like many of you, I’m ga-ga about all things Autumn and apple and pumpkin and spice and football and fuzzy sweaters and cozy socks and crisp air and riotous colors.

To kick off the Fall season I thought I’d share two of our family’s favorite pumpkin recipes.

The first is my grandmother’s famous Pumpkin Bars (recipe here). They are insanely delicious. I’m making a double batch of them today and we’re bringing them to all of our new neighbors on the block, as a thank you for their warm welcome when we moved to Charlotte this summer.

The second recipe is for Paleo Pumpkin Muffins. These are scrumptious – my family eats these all Autumn long with our breakfast. My sous chefs helped me make the first batch of the season this weekend:

20130922-133707.jpg

20130922-133715.jpg

20130922-133730.jpg

20130922-133741.jpg

20130922-133745.jpg

Here’s the recipe, from Sarah Fragoso’s Everyday Paleo Family Cookbook:

Paleo Pumpkin Muffins: (Makes 16-18 muffins)

2 cups almond flour

1/3 cup coconut flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 TB pumpkin pie spice

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 1/2 cups organic canned pumpkin or freshly cooked (I use a whole 15 oz can)

6 eggs

1/4 cup raw honey (or maple syrup)

1/4 cup coconut oil

1 cup raisins

Combine all ingredients, mix and pour into muffin tins (I use wrappers with the bottom coated with oil). Bake at 350 for 30-45 mins until toothpick comes out clean.

So there you have it. One extremely sugar-loaded and delicious pumpkin recipe and one very healthy and also delicious pumpkin recipe. Hope you try them out and enjoy!

Have a wonderful first day of Autumn my friends! Blessings to you and those you love.

Xo,

Steph

P.S. I’ve been decorating our new house for Fall this past week. Here are some pics below of what I’ve been up to so far. My favorite part of the decor this year is the old copper kettle – it was my great grandmothers! When my grandmother, mom, and aunts cleaned out my late great-grandmother’s home, they decided to give her copper kettle to me, since they know how much I love to drink hot tea. I’ll treasure it always!

IMG_3788 - Copy

IMG_3790

IMG_3796

IMG_3798

IMG_3799

IMG_3800

IMG_3801

IMG_3804

IMG_3810

IMG_3811

IMG_3812

IMG_3813

Responses

  1. Your home is so beautiful! What an inspiration for me–thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

