Posted by: littlebitofparadise | September 20, 2013

Words That Have Fed Me

During this past month with my newborn, I haven’t had much time to blog my own thoughts, but thanks to long nursing sessions and the Bloglovin’ app on my iPhone that I’ve learned to use with one-handed dexterity, I’ve had ample opportunity to be fed by the words of other Mamas – women who are in the trenches of motherhood like I am; women who are experiencing the same feelings and emotions, crosses and joys, of this unique calling to raise children.

Today I thought I’d share with you some of the words that have most encouraged me this past month – words that have picked me up when I felt like I was falling, encouraged me when I doubted myself, made me laugh – and yes (thank you postpartum hormones) even made me cry.

I hope these words feed your soul as they have mine.

1. The Best Sweet Everything There Is by Sarah Short of the Blog “Short Stop.” This was beautiful encouragement to me for the nighttime newborn feeding sacrifices us Mamas make.

2. Ann Voskamp’s reflection “For All the World’s Children” upon sending her 18-year-old eldest son off to college. Although my oldest son only just turned 3, I already feel many of the gratitudes and regrets Ann mentions from her 18 years of raising him. The two lines that struck deep into my heart were (1) “I’ll never regret every page we chose over screens.” My boys see WAY too many screens these days. As the days get shorter and the weather turns crisp, I hope to do better with more pages at our house. (2) “Why doesn’t someone tell all the homemakers: Cleaniness isn’t next to godliness. Love is.” I need to hear that. Often.

3. The blog “GirlTalk” (written by a mother and her three grown daughters) featured the post “Simply Does It” which I found so helpful for this stage of my life. I need to write 1 Peter 4:11 on a Post-It note for my bathroom mirror.

4. Since the school year has way started and I haven’t gotten around to any pre-K work with my eldest yet, it was a huge encouragement to be reminded of these truths from the blog Magical Childhood: What Should a 4 Year Old Know?

5. One of the most stylistically beautiful blogs I follow is Anna’s In Honor of Design. I loved her post 5 Minute Make Up – especially since 5 minutes is about as long as Baby Garrett allows me to myself in the mornings.

6. I sooooo related to Francie’s post on her blog Up In and Out on the torments of a bad “Mama Mood.” It’s such a conundrum isn’t it – the need to be cheerful for the sake of your family, but the cross of exhaustion which so easily leads to a bad mood. Ugh. Thank goodness for His grace. And mercy.

7. Dear Sweet Mom Who Feels Like She Is Failing. Each of us Mamas has a day or two or a hundred where we desperately need to read Rachel’s words. I’m working on my “one thing” list for each day. I find it really helps!

Have a wonderful first weekend of Autumn my friends! The Hubs whispered last night during one of Baby Bear’s late night feedings “let’s go to an apple orchard this weekend.”

And that’s why I love him.

Now back to reading “Arthur’s Big Book of Words” with the Cubs…

20130920-104610.jpg

Responses

  1. Congratulations! What’s baby bear’s name?
    And thanks for sharing these posts. I need them too. My Sebastian is 2 weeks old πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Sarah, and congrats on Sebastian’s arrival! I’ve been following his sweet face via FB πŸ™‚ my little Garrett is five weeks today – I can’t believe how fast it flies by!

  2. Thanks so much for featuring my post! What an honor πŸ™‚ Congratulations on your precious new baby!!

    • Francie, you are such a blessing! Thank you for always uplifting us Mamas. I love following your blog. πŸ™‚

  3. Great Quick Takes! I love the links… AND the gorgeous baby with adorable family shot. πŸ™‚

  4. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

