Posted by: littlebitofparadise | July 16, 2013

God Grew Tired of Us

God1

It both amazes and shames me when I reflect on how much I have been blessed with in my life…and yet how much more I want…crave…covet…daydream about.

We moved to a new home about six weeks ago, and it’s utterly lovely just as it is. I’m so thankful to be here. And yet, I still find myself drooling over my Pottery Barn and West Elm catalogs that come almost weekly in the mail. I fantasize about what my living room would look like with Restoration Hardware furniture instead of the cocktail of Ikea’s finest and Craigslist treasures it’s currently decked out with.

I’m blessed with the means to shop at amazing grocery stores piled high with delicious, healthy food.

I drive in a perfectly working vehicle to gorgeous shopping malls. I buy comfy, cute clothes for myself and my family. I have a closet full of shoes. And I’m always on the lookout for another pair.

I visit a highly trained physician all through my pregnancy. I rest with confidence knowing my unborn baby and I will receive the highest level of attention and care modern medicine can provide when the “big day” arrives next month.

Not every mother can boast of such luxuries and blessings as I can.

And yet, many mothers with far less,  have far bigger hearts full of thankfulness and praise. Hearts that have not been jaded by a society of plenty that always craves, strives, longs for more. More. More. The insatiable “more” that is modern America.

I followed blogger Ann Voskamp of A Holy Experience on her journey last month to Africa. What Africa taught Ann deeply impacted my heart on a soul-hungry level. The precious ones Ann met in Africa are the ones truly free, truly living…the ones who aren’t constantly longing for more “stuff” like many of us are.

If you have a moment, I highly recommend you read Ann’s blog post “A Letter to the North American Church – Because It Is Time.” Read more of her posts about Africa if you can.

God3

Several years ago, my husband and I watched a movie that truly touched our hearts called God Grew Tired of Us. It was winner of the 2006 Sundance Film Festival Award, as well as other awards.

God Grew Tired of Us chronicles the lives of three of the “lost boys” from Sudan who survived unimaginable difficulty and suffering while fleeing the Sudan. They eventually came to America and learned to make a life for themselves here. Seeing America through the eyes of the “lost boys” will change your life. You’ll never walk in a Whole Foods or a Target the same way again.

God2

No matter where we live on the planet, each human has so many blessings to be grateful for. Our little spot on the planet has been extra blessed with the “more” and “much.” But we are hungry and broken and disfunctional.

Watch God Grew Tired of Us as a weekend flick this summer, and if you are touched by the story of the Lost Boys, please do leave a comment and share with us, so that others may be inspired to watch it too.

In the meantime, I’m tossing my drool-stained Pottery Barn catalog that just arrived today, and I’m praying for a heart more attuned to my blessings and more grateful for the gifts.

Join me.

God4

All images Via.

Responses

  1. So true….


Leave a Reply

Categories

