Posted by: littlebitofparadise | May 17, 2013

7 Quick Takes Friday

7QTs

I’m linking up with Jen at Conversion Diary today for 7 Quick Takes.

Ready, set (gulp coffee) here we go!

(1)

Today is the Hubs’ graduation from Georgetown University’s Business School with his MBA. I can hardly believe “we’re” DONE! It started to finally feel real yesterday when I was steaming the Hub’s commencement gown. Woo-HOO!

20130516-225304.jpg

I’m an extremely proud wife and a profoundly relieved Mama. Next week I’ll post pics of today’s events and our after par-tay. This morning Bear Cub #1 ran around the house yelling “no more classes for daddy! no more classes for daddy!” and Bear Cub #2 just pointed to the kitchen and said “CAKE!” (Yes, there’s no denying it. Cub #2 takes after me. And yes, there will be much cake here this weekend).

(2)

GeorgeOrwell

How to Make the Perfect Cup of Tea: George Orwell’s 11 Rules

Stealing the link above from the lovely Ann Voskamp who posted it on her blog A Holy Experience yesterday. Ann is an inspirational Christian writer most known for her NY Times bestseller 1000 Gifts. She’s a tremendously gifted writer and a beautiful Christian woman. Her blog fuels my soul with the love of God. And sometimes with the desire for a perfect cup of tea, like she did yesterday.

(3)

breastfeeding

I had a helluva time lot of trouble breastfeeding both of my sons. We had our share of complications that added to our issues, but the long and short of the matter is that I struggled, they struggled, I was unhappy, they were unhappy, and both Cubs ended up quitting on me altogether quite early. Some of the most humbling, sorrowful experiences of my life.

A dear friend recommended the book Breastfeeding Made Simply: 7 Natural Laws for Nursing Mothers. So far it’s been a tremendous help to me. I’m hopeful that with some of the new things I’ve learned and the tips that have been reinforced by this book, we’ll be able to make things work better this third time around. If any of y’all have struggled in this area like I have, I think you may enjoy this book.

(4)

nutella

Is anyone else in love with Nutella? Good. I knew I wasn’t alone.

This is my family’s favorite Nutella cookie recipe, compliments of my friend Daniela. Best part, it’s gluten free for all ya’ll GF-ers. And except for the paleo natzis, most paleo peeps will allow this for a splurge too.

1 cup almond meal/flour

1 egg

1 cup food for the gods Nutella

a splash of mini chocolate chips (only if you know what’s truly good in life)

Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.

I know. Seriously I know. You’re welcome. šŸ˜‰

(5)

TheHobbit

The Hubs and I watched The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey this week. (Thank you, Redbox, for making our movie date nights possible). I didn’t know what to expect after all the mixed reviews I’ve been hearing from friends, but I thought it was awesome. Guess sometimes NOT reading the book first helps, eh?

(6)

My two-year-old learned his first “bad word” this past weekend. Not sure to whom or where or what I owe this new parenting struggle, but the Hubs and I found it hard to decide what the best approach is to ridding a toddler’s vocabulary of a word you don’t want him to say, without making such a deal out of it that you solidify the word/phrase deeper into his vocabulary.

So what’s a new mom to do? Ask her Dad of course! I thought my Dad’s advice was surprising, yet very wise:

“Reprimand calmly and suggest a better phrase for his thoughts. He is too young to pray for himself, but I’d strongly recommend you ask for grace to control his tongue until he is old enough to pray for such grace himself.”

And that’s just what I plan to do.

(7)

20130516-225254.jpg

The Hubs and I are buying a new house the end of this month, and so we’re working like crazy people to pack up our current one for the big move in two weeks. In the midst of the stress and chaos, this verse has been on my mind a lot:

“Be still and know that I am God.” – Psalm 46:10

Hard for someone of my temperament and personality to “be still” when my brain is screaming “there’s STILL so much to do!” but I’m finding the more I take a few minutes to “time out” with God – especially with Scripture and with one of those George Orwell-type cups of tea…I’m a much nicer mommy and wife and friend and human being.

And with that I wish you all a fun, happy, relaxing weekend.

Happy Friday y’all!

— Steph

Leave a Reply

Categories

