Posted by: littlebitofparadise | March 22, 2013

Friday Favorites: For Curly Hair Chicas Like Me

My Favorite Hair Products for Curly Hair

Happy best day of the week friends! I can’t wait to enjoy the first weekend of spring with my family (regardless of the fact we’re in for highs in the upper 40s and the possible snow shower this weekend. Florida my native homeland I missssss you!)

I’ve had requests from some of my readers to do a “Friday Favorites” post about my favorite hair products for curly hair. So fellow curlyhead comrades, today’s post is for you.

Before I list my favs, I should probably explain that my hair is somewhere between wavy and curly. I don’t have corkscrew curls but I do have lots of ringlets especially on the underside of my hair. The top can get pretty straight – especially from all the ponytail time it gets.

Here’s my attempt at a picture of my front and back curly locks so you can see:

20130322-095349.jpg

And here are my (current) favorite products for curlylocks:

20130322-095410.jpg

1. Aveda Damage Remedy Restructuring Shampoo & Conditioner

Aveda1

These two Aveda products are not made specifically for curly hair, but they are a magical potion in a bottle for curly hair. The main battle for most of us curlyheads is to get enough moisture in our hair, since curly hair is naturally much more brittle structurally than straight hair. This shampoo/conditioner combo adds tons of protein and moisture to the hair. I can’t even tell you what a huge difference this product is to any other shampoo I’ve ever used on my head.

The downside: it’s Aveda. (Translate: uber expensive.) However I’ve never purchased this shampoo/conditioner in a salon. I buy the salon-size liters of each from eBay, of all places. I watch for super sales on eBay and when I buy it, I usually get it for at least 50% off the normal price. The good news is a liter of each lasts me at least (if not more than) a year.

I spoke with an Aveda technician about using the Damage Remedy product line, and she encouraged me to not use it more than twice a week. She told me my hair doesn’t need the amount of restructuring protein that using it every wash would give my hair. So, I use this about twice a week, and use a much less expensive drug store shampoo/conditioner for the other washes. Works great.

2. 7 Seconds Condition: Leave-in Detangler by UNITE

7seconds

This leave-in conditioner/detangler is a miracle worker on curly hair – especially the variety that tends to emerge from the shower a tangled mess (like moi!).

This product conditions, gives moisture, gives thermal and UV protection, and also locks in color if you color your hair. And it detangles your locks in 7 seconds. (Also the favorite hair product of Eva Longoria. Need I say more?)

Also a bit pricey. This is a product I ask for in my St. Nicholas stocking or Easter basket. And I encourage the Easter Bunny to buy it for me on eBay, which is MUCH cheaper than purchasing it in a salon.

3. Curls Rock Amplifier by TIGI Catwalk. 

Curlsrock

I love this product so much I could write it a Valentine’s Day card. Seriously, this is the best leave-in product for setting my wet head of curls that I have ever used – and I feel like I’ve tried everything from the .79 drugstore can of mousse to expensive salon products.

I greatly prefer a cream to a mousse for the soft (vs. hard/sticky) feel to my curls. I think I’ve used this product for more than seven years now, and I can’t live without it.

So here’s the money saving tip on this one: Target (and sometimes Walmart’s hair salon) sells a two-pack of Curl’s Rock for the price of one bottle. So for the individual-tube retail price of around $13.99, you can find a 2-pack. Target doesn’t carry it like this all the time, but they do several times a year. When I see it in the two-pack, I stock up with a six or so month supply.

4. Keratin Complex Infusion by Coppola

keratin

This is a product every curly head who sometimes wants to have straight hair should know about. It’s another miracle worker.

Many of you have heard about (or perhaps had?) the innovative new keratin salon treatments that are available for curly headed folks. For hundreds of dollars you can have your hair infused with a special keratin protein formula that will give you perfectly silky straight hair for up to six months. It’s amazing to see the results salons can get from keratin!

This product is what salons use to give you a one-wash keratin straight hair effect. After you shampoo/condition, you rub a very small amount of keratin infusion into your wet hair, blow dry and flat iron as usual, and then when the hair is dry you can rub in a little extra keratin. When I do this treatment on my hair, no one would ever know I had curly hair. It’s perfectly, completely straight and silky. So fun for the occasions when I want to change up my look a bit.

The product retails online for around $20. Salons will charge you more of course. And where do I buy it? You guessed it: eBay.

So since I was in my bathroom taking pictures of hair product containers, I decided to try to snap a self-portrait of the baby bump. This is the first baby bump pic I’ve ever attempted in my life – and I just have to ask: how do you pregnant ladies make these pics look so dang cute all over my Facebook feed??!! Haha – I had the hardest time figuring out how to get a bump pic.

But for the sake of a Friday laugh, here ya go! Behold the 19 week bump! Ultrasound next week – can’t wait to find out if a Little Princess is joining our family or the third member of the Three Musketeers. Either way, God is so good and I am mightily blessed.

20130322-095511.jpg

Happy Friday y’all!

Responses

  1. you look awesome! gotta be a beautiful girl in there!

  2. My hair is the exact same! Thank you so much for making this post! I can’t wait to try the TIGI catwalk product. I am going to check my Walmart the next time I am in there. And, you look adorable! Congratulations on the new baby!


Leave a Reply

Categories

