Posted by: littlebitofparadise | March 5, 2013

Real Moms Fake It

I’m sure the admission is no real shocker to my readers: I’m a bit OCD when it comes to a clean house. (Note: it’s hard for OCD people to admit they’re OCD, so be proud of me y’all. LOL).

It makes me indescribably content to walk through a perfectly clean, freshly vacuumed and mopped, spotless and smelling-of-cleaners house on a Friday afternoon and thinking “Ahhhhh let the weekend beGIN.” It’s such a rush (fellow OCD cleaners: you know what I’m talking about).

But the truth is, real moms live in real life, not in the world of perfection. Kids, activities, work, and just plain life easily get in the way of our perfect dream-clean house.

It’s been humbling for me to come to grips with the fact things in my life sometimes require shortcuts and quickies and faux cleans to keep my house looking semi-respectable while life is allowed to happen. Pregnancy is always a good wake-up call reminder of my obligation to prioritize life ahead of clean dreams.

That’s why I was excited to come across an article in Good Housekeeping Mag that taught ways to “fake clean” your house. I thought it was great. Every housewife needs a few fresh ideas for a fake and quick clean. When you can’t get to the deep clean, these ideas will surely help all of us relax and enjoy our home a bit more until we have time to tackle the deep and dirty full-on clean.

So here’s the article from Good Housekeeping: 16 Ways to Fake Clean Your Home. You can also find it this week on my Pinterest “home” board.

My 2 cents on the article: #11 is cheesy, for #13 I recommend the Magic Eraser instead, and I think every house needs a #16. Brilliant right?

Have a great week y’all! I’m off to fake clean my house a bit before Mr. Baby Bear wakes up from his nap.

20130305-105842.jpg

Responses

  1. Love it! Cute pic with the Lysol 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

