Posted by: littlebitofparadise | February 22, 2013

Friday Favorites: Lenten Pretzels

Another favorite Lenten tradition from my childhood was making soft pretzels for snacks during Lent. For some reason the most vivid image in my mind is my younger sister making them for snacks at the end of our school day during Lent. The rest of us used to beg her until she’d make another batch.

Below is the recipe my family used. These are soft and delicious and best served hot out of the oven:

Soft Pretzels for Lent:

1 package yeast

1 1/2 cups warm water

1 tsp. salt

1 Tb sugar

4 cups all purpose flour, sifted

1 egg beaten

course salt

Dissolve yeast in water, add salt and sugar. Blend in flour and knead dough on floured surface until smooth. Roll out and cut into strips, roll strips into ropes and twist into pretzel-like shapes. Place on greased cookie sheet and brush with beaten egg and sprinkle with the course salt. Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes or until brown. Serve warm.

Recipe says it makes 30-40 pretzels, but the way we made them, it make closer to 20. :0)

I mentioned in my blog yesterday that my two little Sous Chefs and I were field testing a new Lenten recipe. I’m happy to report success!

My family now eats a gluten free diet, so I’ve been searching for a good alternative pretzel recipe that was gluten free. I found a recipe on Pinterest that was both gluten free and grain free (paleo) so I had to give it a try. My kids and I really enjoyed the GF version! The pretzels were super buttery and tasted best when hot. These certainly weren’t an exact replica of the dough-y goodness that only a gluten pretzel recipe can give, but they sure were a fun treat for us.

paleohotcrossbuns

So for my gluten free and Paleo readers, here’s a fun pretzel recipe to try. (Click here).

20130222-095427.jpg

Notes: the dough truly did feel like Playdough when it was the right texture. My kids loved helping to roll it out. I only used 2 Tb of coconut flour (she used 3 Tb in her batches) and it was enough. I also used real butter instead of Ghee because I like the taste better, and it really stood out in the finished product.

20130222-095413.jpg

20130222-095418.jpg

Happy Friday y’all, and happy Lent!

20130222-095434.jpg

P.S. My next experiment is to find a delicious gluten free recipe for hot cross buns. I’ve posted a few that look good on my Pinterest this week. If any of y’all have a GF recipe for those tasty Lenten treats please do share!

Responses

  1. […] made in symbols of St. Joseph’s life. I used my Lenten pretzel recipe (which you can find here) to make the letters of Joseph’s name, and also some of the tools Joseph would use in the […]

  2. […] Lenten Pretzels […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

