Posted by: littlebitofparadise | February 1, 2013

Beauty Tips I’ve Learned from My Sisters: Part 2

Friday Favorites: Beauty Tips I’ve Learned from My Sisters: Part 2

As I’ve mentioned before, one of the greatest blessings of my life is that I have five sisters. They’re all beautiful and wonderful and crazy and fun. Here’s a pic of us at Thanksgiving last fall:

sisters2012

And since she couldn’t be with us for the shot above, here’s a pic of my sweet sis Anne and her Jane (my adorable Goddaughter!)

A&J

One of the many things I love about all of us sisters being together is that frantically fun time when we’re all in the bathroom or in front of bedroom mirrors getting ready for something at the same time. Multiple curling irons and flat irons blazing, makeup travel bags strewn everywhere. And of course music blaring. These are the times I learn some of my best beauty tips and tools. I’m certainly no fashionista or beauty expert in my own right. But these beautiful ladies have certainly taught me a thing or two.

So here’s my latest fav list learned from the sisses.

1. Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay – Deep Pore Cleanser.

20130131-201209.jpg

WOW. This stuff is a-m-a-z-i-n-g! One of my sisters gave each of us girls a jar of Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay in our Christmas stockings this year. The story (if I remember it correctly) is that my sis and her girlfriends went to a spa for facials a few times, and got to know one of the technicians at the spa. The spa technician finally told my sister and her friend “you know, you can do the same facial we do here at home. All you need is Aztec Healing Clay and raw apple cider vinegar.” The girl told my sister the Aztec clay could be purchased at Whole Foods supermarket, so that’s what my sis did – for all her sisters.

I’ve never had a facial like this one. It pulls the skin so that you feel almost disfigured during the facial. And when you wash it off, your skin will feel the smoothest and tightest it’s ever felt. I am in love with this product.

20130131-201227.jpg

As it so happens, my husband has classes for his MBA degree two evenings a week, so those are the two nights a week I indulge in this facial. I figure it’s best to do it then, since green clay is not my sexiest look ever. Ha.

2. Organic 100% pure Argan oil for face.

arganoil

Another sister introduced me to pure Argan oil as a base layer/moisturizer on my face before applying makeup. Most of my sisters wear mineral makeup, and the Argan oil creates a great base for that. But more importantly (at least for the girls in my family) it prevents the occasional acne flare up by providing the proper moisture balance the face naturally needs.

Here’s a good article on how/why argan oil is good for acne and overall facial moisture.

3. Coconut oil for skin moisturizer.

coconut oil

I actually need to give props first to my mom, and then my girlfriend Christine, for introducing me to the concept of keeping coconut oil in the bathroom as well as the kitchen.

I use organic cold-pressed coconut oil for 80% of my cooking and baking these days (replacing other oils, fats, and butter). The health benefits of eating coconut oil are endless. But it’s also a great skin moisturizer. My girlfriend uses it after bathing and shaving, and I’m starting to follow suit. Beats any lotion moisturizer hands down, and depending on the brand you use, you also might faintly smell like the Caribbean after applying. Which is totally fine by me!

(BTW, I am thrilled that Costco now sells jumbo-size vats of organic coconut oil. It’s a little more coconutty than some other brands, but for the price it’s well worth it for our family).

I love that all of these beauty tips are 1000% natural, organic ingredients. Extra great for when you’re preggers too.

Happy Friday y’all!

Responses

  1. Great posts, as always, Steph! 🙂 I had actually bought some men’s razors the other night, remembering your first post on beauty tricks. Love & prayers!

  2. Love this!! Hope your feeling okay, praying for your bitty baby! What do you do with the apple Cider vinegar? I am going to while foods this weekend for the mask! Awesome!

    • Hi Sarah! According to the label instructions, the mask works best when the clay is mixed with raw apple cider vinegar. You can also use water if you prefer. Hope you love it! 🙂

  3. […] Beauty Tips I’ve Learned from My Sisters – Part 2 […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

