Posted by: littlebitofparadise | November 6, 2012

Election Day Thoughts (NOT Political Ones)

Election Day Thoughts…

1. Let the Little Children Come

When I was a child, my parents always took us to the polls with them on Election Day. I remember the fascination and excitement of standing next to my father as he cast his vote (back then behind those voting box curtains – remember those?) and feeling special when a kind precinct volunteer handed me an “I Voted” sticker. My siblings and I felt included in the political process, allowed a glimpse into something that made America unique, and that made us proud to be Americans.

Today, I stood in line at the polls for almost an hour in 38 degrees with my two bear cubs, bundled up like Eskimos against the wind. I hope that I can follow in my parents footsteps by including my children in the democratic process. This process and the freedoms it represents is something their Daddy and Uncle and both Grandpas and Great-Grandpas have fought bravely to defend. And in less than two decades, it’ll be their turn to do their civic duty and their moral one as Catholic Christians.

Check out my lil’ voters:

20121106-134638.jpg

20121106-134646.jpg

2. Kindness and Patriotism in Common

Today I had the loveliest conversation at the polls with an elderly gentleman who did not share my worldview or my political leanings. In fact, when it came to politics we were pretty much polar opposites. But we had the nicest chat. You know what brought us together? Our common love for our country, and the fact he and my husband had both fought for America overseas.

He loudly applauded my brother-in-law, a Marine Cobra pilot who has been deployed in the Middle East since April. And he spoke so highly of my husband, a man he’d never met, after he learned of his service to America.

I must sheepishly admit, I did not show up to the polls today planning to talk to anyone from “the other side” so to speak. But my chat with this elderly American made me realize that even when we differ strongly on ideas about America’s future, we can share patriotism and kindness to our neighbor in common. Always.

Thanks, Kind Sir, for that important reminder.

3. Don’t Put Your Trust in Princes

I know there’s immense talk today (and the past 18 months or so) about the “future of America” and both sides saying that today decides America’s future and our children’s future. I’ve seen countless people post on Twitter and Facebook and who knows what else about one candidate or the other “saving America for future generations.”

I personally think that’s a load of malarky.

America’s tipping point happened a LONG time ago. A blue or a red president cannot ruin and cannot “save us” or redeem our nation. In fact, there’s only One who can.

Here’s the verse on the Hubs’ and my minds today.

Psalm 146: 3-10:

“Do not put your trust in princes,

in mortal men, who cannot save.

When their spirit departs, they return to the ground;

on that very day their plans come to nothing.

Blessed is he whose help is the God of Jacob,

whose hope is in the Lord his God,

the Maker of heaven and earth,

the sea, and everything in them—

the Lord, who remains faithful forever.

He upholds the cause of the oppressed

and gives food to the hungry.

The Lord sets prisoners free,

the Lord gives sight to the blind,

the Lord lifts up those who are bowed down,

the Lord loves the righteous.

The Lord watches over the alien

and sustains the fatherless and the widow,

but he frustrates the ways of the wicked.

The Lord reigns forever,

your God, O Zion, for all generations.

Praise the Lord.”

20121106-135528.jpg

4. Wear the Sticker, Get Free Stuff 

Free Chipotle, Starbucks Wristbands, California Tortilla, Einstein Bagels, Boston Market, the list goes on. Google “I Voted Sticker Freebies” with the name of your city and check out some extra incentives to get out there and vote!

Responses

  1. Thanks for the reminders, especially #3! I’ve been trying to not let that “worried stomach ache” take over, whenever I think about the election today. God really is charge!

  2. Hi Stephanie, Thanks for the post. I also really like #3. I may share this with my high school/junior high students tomorrow. Blessings!


Leave a Reply

Categories

