Posted by: littlebitofparadise | October 5, 2012

Friday Favorites: Fall Scents

“Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.”  — George Eliot

Ah friends, I certainly do love autumn! And I know many of you do as well. One of my favorite aspects of fall is the smells. Pumpkin and cinnamon and nutmeg and ginger and chai tea and baked apples. These make my heart very happy.

They also make me happy when they come from a glass jar on my kitchen counter that flickers and sparkles and crackles…

For many, Yankee Candle Co. is the gold standard in scented candles, for all seasons and occasions. And I certainly love me some Yankee candles. Particularly at Christmas time. When the Hubs and I do our annual holiday trip to the mall to take in the sights and sounds and do some shopping, our first stop is always Starbucks (I have a thing for lattes in the red Christmas cups) and our second stop is the Yankee Candle store to pick out our Advent and Christmas scents for the house. Love it.

But during the rest of the year, particularly in the fall, my favorite candles are called Woodwick, made by the Virginia Candle Company.

Woodwick candles are made of exactly what their name describes: an organic wooden wick at the center, instead of a wax wick. The effect is that when lit, the wick crackles and pops like a small, quiet fireplace.

The scents are incredible. Some of our family favorites are Fireside, Redwood, and Biscotti.

This fall Woodwick has some wonderful specialty scents for the season. Apple Crisp. Cinnamon Chai. Pumpkin Butter. Harvest Blessing. To name a few. There’s a fall trilogy candle I just bought for my sister that has three layers: apple crisp, pumpkin butter, and spiced citrus. Glorious!

As the weather gets cooler, turning on our fireplace and lighting our Woodwick candle becomes a highlight of the Hubs and my evenings. Coupled with a glass of red and a cutthroat friendly game of Scrabble, it’s the perfect romantic fall night.

Speaking of which, I better play my turns on Words with Friends to get my brain ready for tonight’s competition game.

Happy Friday y’all!

xo,

Steph

[Woodwick Candles are available at Cracker Barrel, Macy’s, Hallmark, Amazon, and in fine gift shops everywhere. Budget friendly tip: Buy the candles after their peak season for use next year. Cracker Barrel discounts their overstock seasonal Woodwicks up to 50-70% off at the start of the next season or holiday.]

Responses

  1. Woodwicks are the greatest!! I think they trump a yankee in many ways. I use the tarts from Yankee. As soon as I get home, I’ve got to change my candles over from Summer to Fall!! I love this post – it just got me totally longing for Fall everything. I fully expect to see some leaves changing on my drive down I-26 today and will no doubt be as filled with joy as I ever have. Hope you and the fam have a fabulous Fal!! 🙂

  2. […] 2. Woodwick Candles (read post here). […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

