Posted by: littlebitofparadise | September 28, 2012

Friday Favorites: Mrs. Tea

Today I simply must pay homage to one of the great loves in my life: tea.

The two beverages that are essential to the success of my motherhood are coffee in the morning (no explanation necessary) and red wine in the evening (helps immensely with the transition from mom to wife after the kids go to bed). But tea – tea is classy and classic. It’s the indulgence that makes me happy, cozy, and nostalgic.

I’ve been crazy about tea for as long as I can remember.

I’m the girl who in 10th grade set the back of my shirt on fire while learning against the stove waiting for the tea pot to boil (study break). I’m the college chica who pulled all-nighters and crammed for exams with big mugs of hot black tea as my companion instead of the coffee most of my classmates were scarfing. And in all the six years I hosted a live talk show for the EWTN Radio Network, I never went on the air without a mug of hot tea next to me. My control room engineers and call screeners and in-house guests and co-hosts can all testify: I always always had my tea.

In the spring and summer, I make all kinds of iced teas. Served with a lemon wedge and fresh mint it’s my perfect chilled beverage (that’s non-alcoholic) when the weather is warm. But in the fall, that’s when the real fun begins. That’s when my collection of loose and bagged tea leaves come out and my husband and I enjoy mug after mug of the warm aromatic brew.

20120927-202803.jpg

In fall and winter, black tea is my afternoon companion while I work from home on the computer, blog, menu plan, or fold laundry and do house chores. And in the late evenings, my Hubs and I share a pot of decaf herbal tea while we soak in the quiet of post-bearcub-bedtime.

20120927-202746.jpg

Many years ago my Mormor (Swedish word for mother’s mother – pronounced just like it looks) gave me a Mrs. Tea Pot for my birthday. It looks a bit like a coffee pot, and it’s made by the Mr. Coffee brand, but it’s an appliance exclusively for making a perfect pot of tea. The bottom of the appliance keeps the teapot warm in the same way a coffee maker keeps the carafe of coffee warm. Mrs. Tea Pot is now discontinued by the company, but you can still find them occasionally on eBay or at yard sales and in thrift stores. Several members of my family have purchased them recently from such places for their homes and dorm rooms. (Tea addiction runs in my family).

20120927-202756.jpg

A fun fact for those interested in learning more about how to brew the perfect cup of tea: search for Alton Brown’s Tea episode of his show Good Eats. It’s pretty much a Ph.D. education in tea wrapped up in less than 30 minutes.

I wish you all a happy Friday and a wonderful weekend, and leave you with this fun poem written about my favorite cozy beverage.

A CUP OF TEA:
When the world is all at odds
And the mind is all at sea
Then cease the useless tedium
And brew a cup of tea.
There is magic in its fragrance,
There is solace in its taste;
And the laden moments vanish
Somehow into space.
And the world becomes a lovely thing!
There’s beauty as you’ll see;
All because you briefly stopped
To brew a cup of tea.
Tea helps our head and heart.
Tea medicates most every part.
Tea rejuvenates the very old.
Tea warms the hands of those who’re cold.
(J. Jonker, Amsterdam, c.1670)
Responses

  1. […] Read all about my tea addiction here. Trader Joes makes some delicious Fall tea flavors – look for their apple and pumpkin flavors this time of year. Mmmmm. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

