Posted by: littlebitofparadise | August 29, 2012

Brag Worthy

Ann Romney’s speech at the Republican National Convention last night was the inspiration for my blog thoughts today.

[But before I say another word about Ann, let me be clear that this is the most non-political piece you’ll ever read about a Romney. I do not intend to either endorse or disparage Mrs. Romney’s speech, her husband’s candidacy, or the Republican Party. So if you’re a Romney supporter, a die-hard Ron Paul fan, love President Obama, or plan to vote for Mickey Mouse – I don’t want to hear about any of it.]

What struck me most about Ann Romney’s speech actually had very little to do with her speech and a lot to do with me, my marriage, and my husband.

You see, I loved listening to Ann sing the praises of her spouse of 43 years. Yes, I knew it was a political speech. I knew her husband’s campaign team was counting on her to paint a personal, real, in-depth look at who is Mitt Romney the Family Man. But beyond the political agenda, I appreciated the fact this I was listening to a woman who has spent the past 43 years devoting her time, her talents, her energy, her passion, her very self, to the man she loves and the family they built together.

Clearly, Ann did not feel the need to have a “star studded” career of her own: raising 5 boys and supporting her husband’s dreams was satisfying enough. You don’t often hear a woman introduced on a prime-time stage at a national political rally whose biographical sketch isn’t much more than “devoted wife, loving mother, woman of strong faith, cancer survivor…”

Last night I felt that Ann Romney wore these badges with true honor, pride, and grace. She was a classy example to me and every other young wife and mother in America that there is beauty and success and distinction in a life lived in service for those you love; in making their dreams your own.

Whether or not her speech made me want to vote for her husband – that still remains to be seen. But what her speech DID make me want to do is dote on my own husband a bit more.

Ann prompted me to recommit this morning over my first cup of coffee to the honorable, joyful, sometimes painful, always beautiful task of supporting my husband: being the rock that he stands on and his greatest prayer warrior; being his biggest encourager always, his motivator when it gets tough, his comic relief when it gets too serious, the arms to hold him when he is discouraged and the arms in which he celebrates his every accomplishment.

I’m recommitting today to brag (in a good healthy way) about my husband and his accomplishments. Not in an annoying way, but in a way that lets the world see through my eyes how special he is…how much I believe in him and his work…how deeply committed I am to his team.

40 years from now the Hubs and I will have been married as long as the Romney’s are today. If I can proudly wear the title of “devoted wife, loving mother, doting grandmother, woman of faith…” on my shoulders half as well as the lady in red did on TV last night, I will be a happy, satisfied woman.

And the Hubs will be a lucky man.

“The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain.”

– Proverbs 31:11

Responses

  1. I love this post, Steph! I also listened to Ann Romney and was struck by the real-ness of what she was saying. If nothing else, it was a witness to marriage.


Leave a Reply

Categories

