Posted by: littlebitofparadise | August 10, 2012

Friday Favorites: Beauty on a Budget

I have five sisters. Best reason ever for growing up in my family.

My sisters and I are all extremely different: it may sound surprising that six girls could come from the same parents with such vastly different personalities, temperaments, interests, goals, and pursuits, but that’s us.

While our diversities are apparent to all who know us, there are a few things that we share closely in common: our competitive spirits, our love for adventure, our passion for faith and family, and our undying interest in all things fashion, fitness and beauty trends. I guess you could say we share a “girly side” even though it exhibits itself in distinctive ways in each of us.

(This pic was taken 2 weeks after I delivered my son. Pardon the swollen bleary-eyed postpartum look!)

For today’s Friday Favorites” I’ll share five beauty secrets I’ve learned from my fashionista sistahs…and what I love best about these is they are completely budget-friendly.

1. Use Men’s Shaving Razors. 

Guys’ razors are cheaper, sharper, and last longer. Venus just doesn’t hold a candle to a Gillette. When I first made the switch I found myself more prone to nick myself with a guy’s razor, but that was only until I got used to how much sharper they were.

2. Use Men’s Antiperspirant and Deodorant. 

I know I know, this ones sounds weird, but men’s deodorant is cheaper, comes in larger containers, and works better and longer than women’s brands. Go for the fruity and tropical scents in the men’s section. Old Spice makes a few scents in their tropical line that, with your eyes closed for a blind test, you’d never ever ever know it wasn’t from the women’s fragrance section. Try it – we dare you.

3. Mix Nail Polish Colors. 

Tired of the colors in your nail polish collection? Instead of running to Target for a new bottle of polish, try putting two coats of different colored polish on your nails and creating a new color from your current collection. Apparently it’s all the rage. Like from 3 years ago. It takes me a while to catch up. Thank goodness I have younger sisters to help me with these things.

4. Forget the Beauty Counter at the Mall…Hello Costco??

Looking for a luxurious face cream or eye serum but without the hefty mall beauty counter price tag? Try the Kirkland brand at Costco! It’s called “Borghese” and the line includes a face cream, night cream, and eye serum. One of my sisters describes the cream as “a face massage every morning.” She’s right!

5. Go Morrocan

If you haven’t discovered Morrocan hair oil yet, ask for a bottle of the serum for your next birthday. It’s a-m-a-z-i-n-g how soft and healthy and luxurious my hair feels after an application of this miracle stuff. It strengthens, conditions, revives, smooths, defrizzes, you name it. Most of my sisters have various degrees of straight hair, and I have super-curly hair, and we all use and love Morrocan oil. Sometimes I even apply a teensie-weensie drop of it to the bear cubs’ locks after bath time and it keeps their hair super silky and healthy too. While a small bottle is a bit pricey (usually around $12-15), it lasts a long time, and it’s way cheaper (and more effective!) than a whole pile of salon products and services to condition and strengthen hair.

Happy Friday Y’all!

xo,

Steph

Responses

  1. Sweet! Great ideas 🙂

  2. Stephanie, does the Kirkland brand at Cosco have their own version of the Aveda shampoo and conditioner? Is that where you purchase it? Thanks! Great post!

  3. Hey Steph, I’ve got another “man” product you ladies need to add to your list…Nivea for Men Shaving Gel for Sensitive Skin. John got it one time because he couldn’t find the Skintimate sensitive we usually share (haha – the gender product switch works both ways) and we LOVE IT! It’s not super manly smelling, it beats any other “sensitive” shaving gel or cream I’ve tried and it’s still about the same price as others (because there’s more in it than in the ladies’ brands.)

    Anyhooo just thought I should pass that along to you and any of your comment readers. 🙂

    • This is great Jess! Thanks for sharing! Will definitely try next time I need shaving cream. 🙂

  4. […] Beauty on a Budget […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

