Posted by: littlebitofparadise | July 17, 2012

Good Medicine

I wrote the story below almost two years ago – September 2010 – and I’ve never shared it with anyone. It was a good reminder for me as I re-read it this morning. Hope you enjoy, and hope your day is filled with lots of good medicine.

XO, Steph

Good Medicine

Yesterday I learned a powerful lesson about motherhood: namely, a sense of humor is an absolute key to survival.

It was the first “real” day of fall – rainy with a cooler temperature. I decided to take the baby to Costco to do our bi-weekly stock-up. Last night we used up the last of our meat and milk in the house, so a Costco adventure was definitely overdue.

After rooting through my own closet for jeans and shoes (i.e. not flip-flops) for the first time in two seasons, I wrestled Mark into a long-sleeved shirt, corduroy overalls, and a clean diaper. My plan was to feed him and leave for the store immediately afterwards.

All was going according to plan until the moment I bent over to place my fed and burped baby in his car seat…and my little Mark threw up all over himself and all over me. I can count on one hand the times he’s thrown up like that, so it was somewhat of a shocker. Moments later, corduroy overalls wrestled off (I hadn’t even finished changing him yet!) he did a colossal record-book-worthy load in his diaper and down his leg.

After several minutes of hullabaloo, we were both changed again and ready to hit the road for our big outing. I pulled into the Costco parking lot and reached for my purse to get out my club membership card…and my heart sank as I opened my wallet. No debit card. I am never ever without my debit card, mind you, but I had put it in the diaper bag over the weekend and totally forgotten to put it back. Since I don’t use credit cards, and I wasn’t carrying enough cash, I had no way to pay for groceries without first going home. I stared out my windshield at the entrance of Costco with my fussy baby in the back seat, envying all the other moms entering the building to do their shopping. It was late in the afternoon and I didn’t have a back-up plan for dinner.

By the time I got the baby unpacked from our unsuccessful outing, my husband was walking in the door from work. First thing he said after hanging up his keys: “Guess what Hon, I forgot my wallet when I left for work this morning! Good thing I wasn’t pulled over!”

I stared at him and started laughing. “Well wait until you hear about OUR day” I said to him with a giggle. We commiserated on our seemingly jinxed day, laughing at how odd yet similar our experiences had been. I was reminded of Proverbs 17:22 “A joyful heart is good medicine, but a broken spirit dries up the bones.”

Sharing a good laugh with your husband can sure cover a multitude of inconveniences and annoyances!

Our evening went shockingly well after our ill-fated afternoon. Peter watched the baby while I ran to the closest grocery store for a few essentials. We ate spaghetti and a mixed green salad for dinner, and Pete opened a bottle of Chianti for us to share. It was simple, but it kinda felt like date night; especially after the baby fell asleep early and I was able to beat the Hubs at a cutthroat friendly game of Scrabble…

Leave a Reply

Categories

