Posted by: littlebitofparadise | July 6, 2012

Friday Favorites: Toddler Bedtime Stories

Friday Favorites: Our Family’s Five Favorite Bedtime Stories for Little Boys

I really can’t take credit for writing today’s post, since these are my son Mark’s favorite bedtime story books. Although I must say, the Hubs and I are happy with his “top choices” because these books are actually fun to read, have a wonderful sing-songy rhyming cadence, and they do a great job of making toddlers (Warning: and their parents!) drowsy and ready for bed. The nice thing about these books is, even though Pete and I read them to our children almost daily (sometimes we BOTH get roped into reading them in an evening) we don’t get sick of them any more than our little boys do.

1. Little Blue Truck by Alice Schertle, Illustrated by Jill McElmurray. If you have a toddler son and haven’t discovered Little Blue Truck yet, this is a must for your son’s next gift! We were introduced to Little Blue Truck by my sister Anne, and now this is my Mark’s favorite book in addition to being my nephew Benjamin’s favorite. Such a sweet story that teaches an important life lesson.

2. Little Blue Truck Leads the Way, by Alice Schertle. The “sequel” to Little Blue Truck is an adventure into the bustling city…just as sweet and is definitely vying for first place on my son’s list.

3. The Goodnight Train, by June Sobel. An adorable story about kids getting ready for bed and falling asleep.

4. Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site, by Pamela Paul. The Hub’s favorite page is about the Bulldozer going to sleep, but I like reading about the Excavator best.

5. Big Red Barn, by Margaret Wise Brown. Written by the author of Goodnight Moon, another one of our favorites, but Mark likes saying goodnight to the farm animals more than to a comb and a brush and a bowl full of mush.

Happy Friday Y’all! Have a great weekend!

xo, Steph

P.S. Please do share favorite bedtime story titles with us too – we are always on the lookout for a new favorite!

Responses

  1. My brother and I always loved to hear some Shell Silverstein “Where the Sidewalk Ends” poems. Those are a little older though – I don’t remember being a toddler too much and I don’t have any yet haha! Mom also sang “Hush Little Baby” to me almost every night. As we got older and could get ready for bed ourselves, Bryan and I would rush to get our PJs on, teeth brushed and tucked firmly into bed to yell, “I’m the first one in bed!” so that we could get kissed and read to and sang to first. I’m certain now that this competition was a ploy by our parents to get us IN bed at a decent hour, but we sure loved to be the first to get one-on-one parent time before we feel asleep.

    So I totally just told you a childhood memory and didn’t really suggest anything for you to read to the boys right now, but I do hope you enjoyed your glimpse into life as a young Gullick. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

