Posted by: littlebitofparadise | April 15, 2012

Feast of the Divine Mercy

I had completely forgotten until 3:24pm this afternoon that tomorrow is the Feast of the Divine Mercy, or Mercy Sunday. I had wanted to pull together a few things so that my family really noticed in our home tomorrow that it’s a special feast day, but alas, since I hadn’t prepared ahead of time, I had to get creative tonight with things I had lying around the house. Here’s what I came up with:

For our table in the kitchen, I pulled a red Christmas tablecloth out of storage in our basement. My dear friend Mrs. Rose Marie Ortiz gave Pete and I a beautiful picture of the Divine Mercy as a wedding shower gift, so I took it off the wall and put it on our table. I’ll be serving Sunday brunch to my boys on red heart-shaped ceramic plates I picked up at Target during their 70% post-Valentine’s clearance sale, to remind them of the heart of Christ, overflowing with love and mercy for each of us. And yes, our feast day brunch will most certainly include cinnamon rolls. Not that they have any liturgical significance – they just make the Hubs epespecially happy on Sunday mornings. Maybe I’ll make them heart-shaped tomorrow, if I have enough coffee before I start rolling out the dough. 😉

I also wanted to make some sort of feast day dessert to mark the occasion, but I was short on ideas and ingredients this afternoon. I knew Lacy at CatholicIcing would have some ideas to help me out, and she certainly didn’t disappoint!

I started by downloading and coloring her Divine Mercy paper statue (above), and thankfully I had glue, markers and a freshly emptied toilet roll…it took less than five minutes to make once I downloaded her design from here.

I didn’t have the time, energy, or ingredients to make a dessert from scratch, but I usually have a box or two of boxed cake mixes in my pantry for “emergencies” so this sure came in handy tonight:

And Wa-la! A little food coloring later, this is what I came up with:

Hopefully my gang won’t laugh too hard at my goofy cake. But hey – not too bad for a last minute job, eh?

If you’d like to learn more about the Feast of the Divine Mercy, EWTN has a great mini-site with prayers, history, lots of great info here. (And remember, an awesome plenary indulgence is available tonmorrow too!)

Happy Feast Day tomorrow!

Covered in His Mercy,

Steph

Responses

  1. No worries Sis in law…the kids won’t start laughing at you until they are about my kids age (and my kids are to kind and gentle to laugh at people)…thanks for the wonderful suggestions. Happy Divine Mercy Sunday! God is good!

  2. LOVE the cake, Steph! 🙂

  3. […] The Feast of the Divine Mercy is this coming Sunday. Ever since my conversion to Catholicism, I’ve always loved this feast day. Last year when I launched my blog, one of my very first posts was about toddler-friendly ideas for celebrating this feast day. You can check out that Divine Mercy blog post here. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

