Posted by: littlebitofparadise | April 11, 2012

Little Bit of Paradise

Paradise. A word defined by the good ol’ Merriam Webster as “Eden…Heaven… An intermediate place or state where the souls of the righteous await resurrection and the final judgment…a place or state of bliss, felicity, or delight.”

It’s a word that sums up my life, my goals, my desires, my dreams. I know that Paradise (Heaven) is my home, and this life is just the journey to what I was made for. I believe with all my heart that Jesus Christ is the way to get there.

But until the day I enter Paradise, I know that my vocation (calling, purpose) on earth is to create a little bit of Paradise right here right now, in Northern Virginia, for my husband and my sons. My purpose is to help Pete get to Heaven, one day, one sacrifice, one success, one failure, one prayer at a time. It’s to show my boys that they are made for more than this life on earth has to offer, and to equip them with the tools to love, fear, and follow Jesus Christ on the path to Paradise.

As a wife and mom, I want to give my family a little bit of paradise in the form of a peaceful, attractive, and orderly home; in delicious, healthy, homecooked meals; in a fine bottle of wine (for Pete, not the babies), a fun craft project, an adventurous family outting; in a romantic in-home date night for me and MacGyver (a.k.a. Peter the Hubs). In big things and small ways, I’m striving to bring a little Heaven to earth in the midst of the chaos, the hectic, the mundane, the stressful, the craziness that is newlywed life with two kids under age two in the bustling Washington D.C. Metro area.

Reality check: life is not perfect, and we haven’t exactly achieved Paradise here on Tombreck Court. This morning my 21-month-old tripped over a Hot Wheels car and split his bottom lip open. His clothes and mine are currently sitting in a bucket of Oxi-clean in a perhaps futile attempt to erase the cocktail of blood and strawberry popsicle juice. My 4-month old pooped so massively in the Target parking lot that by the time I had rushed us through the store for my weekly stock-up of diapers and wipes he had poopies all the way up his back and up to his chest in the front. There are three loads of laundry in front of my washer – the remnants of our trip to Grandma and PopPop’s house for the Easter Triduum. And my family room is covered in more Mega Blocks and Hot Wheels (you’re no longer surprised my Toddler tripped, eh?) than any family should be allowed to own.

Yet, even in the midst of this ordinary life I’m living, I’m still dreaming of Paradise, and striving to create “a place or state of bliss, felicity, or delight.” Just a little bit.

Time to wrap up Blog Post Numero Uno. Mark is begging for a ride on my shoulders (PUHLEEEEASE Mommmmmy!!!). Time to go get my inner Bronco on. Yeehaw! 🙂

He is Risen Indeed! Happy Easter!

“But we impart a secret and hidden wisdom of God, which God decreed before the ages for our glorification. None of the rulers of this age understood this; for if they had, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory. But, as it is written, “What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the heart of man conceived, what God has prepared for those who love him.”– 1 Corinthians 2:7-9

Responses

  1. Great first blog, you’re a natural!

  2. beautifully written Steph! You are truly living out the calling to be a Proverbs 31 woman and are as beautiful on the inside as you are on the out. I’m sending you a bucket of Oxi-Clean for mother’s day!! Love you 🙂

  3. Awesome, Steph! Thanks for sharing – I’m looking forward to your future posts! Love you and miss you!

  4. Love your blog; great idea! 🙂 Thanks for sharing. xoxo


Leave a Reply

Categories

